22 July 2020

Met Program Validation – DRAFT

Steering Committee Membership

Once we enter Schematic Design, the Steering Committee will be expected to review at major milestones, typically 50% and 100% design documents.

Jon Alvarez, Director, Office of Campus Planning Judith Barry, Director, ACT Alan Berger, Co-Director, LCAU Phil Clay, Professor Emeritus, DUSP Marty Culpepper, MIT Maker Czar, Project Manus Marion Cunningham, AO, ACT Barbara Feldman, Asst. Dean for Development, SA+P Dennis Frenchman, Director, CRE (until September 28, 2020) Ken Goldsmith, Asst. Dean of Finance, SA+P Jim Harrington, Director of Facilities, SA+P Jon Hunt, Assoc. Director, Project Manus Caroline Jones, Associate Dean, SA+P Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture John Ochsendorf, Professor, Architecture Brent Ryan, Associate Professor, DUSP Hashim Sarkis, Dean, SA+P Kairos Shen, Lecturer, CRE Larry Vale, Associate Dean, SA+P Krystyn Van Vliet, Associate Provost Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP Siqi Zheng, Director, CRE (as of August 1, 2020)

Core Project Management Team

This is the core MIT project management team responsible for project initiation (OCP) and project delivery (CC).

Nicole Bernabei, Sr. Project Manager, Campus Construction (*lead from Schematic Design*) Morgan Pinney, Sr. Campus Planner, Office of Campus Planning Sonia Richards, Director, Campus Construction

SA+P Core Communications Group

This group is proposed as a subset of the Steering Committee to provide ongoing review of documents through all phases of design. This group is expected to provide necessary support to the project management team.

Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture Jim Harrington, Director of Facilities, SA+P Caroline Jones, Associate Dean, SA+P

SA+P Core Communications Group Staff and Steering Committee Staff

Nicole Bernabei, Sr. Project Manager, Campus Construction (*lead from Schematic Design*) Morgan Pinney, Sr. Campus Planner, Office of Campus Planning Greg Raposa, Space Administrator, Office of the Provost Sonia Richards, Director, Campus Construction

Program Validation User Groups * indicates chair/co-chair

1) Commons and Retail

a) Shared spaces (Lobby, classrooms, auditorium, meeting rooms, lounge, project room)

Judith Barry, Director, ACT
Alan Berger, Co-Director, LCAU
Marty Culpepper, Project Manus
Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture
B. Jack Hanly, Arch PhD student
Jim Harrington, SA+P
*Caroline Jones, Associate Dean, SA+P
Bani Amrit Kaur, MSRED student
Vijay Rajkumar, MArch student
Prudence Robinson, Executive Director, LCAU

*Larry Vale, Associate Dean, SA+P Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP

b) Bookstore

Office of Campus Planning
Campus Construction
Amy Brand, MIT Press
Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture
Jim Harrington, SA+P
Mark Jarzombek, Architecture
*Caroline Jones, Associate Dean, SA+P
Greg Raposa, Office of the Provost
*Larry Vale, Associate Dean, SA+P
Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP

c) Café

Office of Campus Planning
Campus Construction
Campus Dining
Marty Culpepper, Project Manus

Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture Ken Goldsmith, SA+P B. Jack Hanly, Arch PhD student Jim Harrington, SA+P *Caroline Jones, Associate Dean, SA+P Bani Amrit Kaur, MSRED student Vijay Rajkumar, MArch student Greg Raposa, Office of the Provost *Larry Vale, Associate Dean, SA+P Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP

2) SA+P Studios & Research space

a) ARCH, DUSP, CRE teaching space

Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture
Arindam Dutta, Arch HTC
Dennis Frenchman, CRE studio
B. Jack Hanly, Arch PhD student
Matthew Harrington, Arch IT
Jim Harrington, SA+P
*Sheila Kennedy, Arch
William J. O'Brien, Arch & Urbanism
Vijay Rajkumar, MArch student
*Brent Ryan, DUSP studio
Kairos Shen, CRE
Lisa Thoma, Assoc Dir, CRE
Skylar Tibbits, UG Arch
Sarah Williams, Urban Science
Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP

b) DESIGN X, ARCH, DUSP, CRE research space

Carlo Ratti, Lab Director, SENSEable City Christoph Reinhart, Arch Building Tech

Alan Berger, LCAU
Brandon Clifford
Dayna Cunningham, Executive Director, CoLab
*Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Architecture
Jacqueline Dufault, Executive Director, SENSEable City
Dennis Frenchman, Faculty Director, Design X (until September 28, 2020)
Jim Harrington, SA+P
Matthew Harrington, Arch IT
Bani Amrit Kaur, MSRED student
Duncan Kincaid, DUSP IT
Miho Mazereeuw

Gilad Rosenzweig, Executive Director, Design X Skylar Tibbits *Chris Zegras, Department Head, DUSP Jinhua Zhao, DUSP Siqi Zheng, CRE/DUSP

3) SA+P office space

a) SA+P, ARCH, LCAU office space

Alan Berger, LCAU
Martha Collins, HR Director
Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Arch
*Ken Goldsmith, SA+P
B. Jack Hanly, Arch PhD student
Jim Harrington, SA+P
William J. O'Brien, Arch & Urbanism
*Andreea O'Connell (Arch AO)
Nasser Rabbat, Arch Aga Khan
Christoph Reinhart, Arch Building Tech
Larry Sass, Arch Computation
Kristel Smentek, Arch HTC
Vijay Rajkumar, MArch student

4) Shop/ Fabrication space (SA+P and Project Manus)

a) Shop space

EHS reps

Brandon Clifford

*Marty Culpepper

Pru Robinson, LCAU

Nicholas de Monchaux, Department Head, Arch

Chris Dewart, manager, Architecture Shops

B. Jack Hanly, Arch PhD student

Jim Harrington, SA+P

Jon Hunt

Caitlin Mueller

Jennifer O'Brien, tech instructor, Architecture

Vijay Rajkumar, MArch student

*Larry Sass

Gediminas Urbonas, ACT

Graham Yeager, fabrication associate, ACT

5) Project Manus (TO BE CONFIRMED WITH PROJECT MANUS)

a) Project Manus space, all

EHS reps

Seth Avecilla, Maker Technical Specialist, Project Manus

Justin Buck- Biomakerspace Lab Manager, Biological Engineering

Sara Brown, Assistant Professor, Theater

Mack Cameron-Martin Trust Center/Sloan

*Marty Culpepper, MIT Maker Czar, Project Manus

Chris Dewart, manager, Architect Shops

Robyn Goodner, Maker Technical Specialist, Project Manus

Jim Harrington, SA+P

Jon Hunt, Associate Director, Project Manus

*Angelina Jay, Technical Instructor, Project Manus

Connor McCardle, Video and Digital Content Specialist, Project Manus

Jennifer O'Brien, tech instructor, Architecture

Oliver Thomas, Maker Digital Systems Architect, Project Manus

(2) Student Representatives to be named (Grad and Undergrad)

6) **Building Support**

a) Building support spaces/ dept of facilities spaces; topical agendas

User group (defined by OCP/CC)

MIT FE

MIT IS&T

MIT Custodial

MIT OCP

Jim Harrington, SA+P

Jon Hunt, Project Manus

Greg Raposa, Office of the Provost

Les Norford, Architecture Building Technology

*Christoph Reinhart, Architecture Building Technology

Room Data Sheet Development Meetings & Proposed User Groups

The groups (and memberships) listed are proposed as subsets of the original SA+P topical working groups as well as impacted DLCs currently proposed to move to the Met. The intent is to convene these groups during the Program Validation phase in order to provide information and review of room data sheets and programmatic adjacencies.

To kick off this work effort, we assume there will be a Steering Committee meeting and a potential Town Hall meeting with SA+P faculty and staff to orient SA+P to the project. DS&R and project management staff will be ready to provide supplemental materials for these meetings.

Subsequent to the Steering Committee and Town Hall meetings, the design team and project management staff will meet with each user group to review and comment on detailed room data sheets informing the program. Next, the design team will update the detailed room data sheets, and provide an opportunity for review and comment from each group. After the reviews, the room data sheets will be finalized and submitted to the Steering Committee for final review and approval.